Nuclear power plants in India Upsc

Nuclear power plants in India

India’s Nuclear programme had its origin in March 1944, which was started by Homi Jehangir Bhabha who founded the Nuclear research centre, at the Tata Institute of Fundamental Research.

As of October 2021, there are 7 nuclear power plants in India and 23 nuclear reactors are operational. Its total installed capacity of 7480 MW.

The 7 Nuclear power plants in India are:

  • Kudankulam Nuclear Power Plant, Tamil Nadu
  • Tarapur Nuclear Reactor, Maharashtra
  • Maras Atomic Power Station, Tamil Nadu
  • Narora Nuclear Reactor, UP
  • Kaiga Nuclear Power Plant, Karnataka
  • Rajasthan Atomic Power Station, Rajasthan
  • Kakrapar Atomic Power Station, Gujarat

The largest nuclear power generation facility is KKNP, Tamil Nadu. That consists of 6 units of a Light water reactor with each of 1000 MW capacity.

Tamil Nadu has more nuclear power plants in India, in two different towns one at Kalpakkam and the other at Kudankulam.

India’s first nuclear reactor is Apsara which was designed by Bhabha Atomic Research Center (BARC) with the assistance of the United Kingdom. The Apsara nuclear reactor is situated in BARC Mumbai.

Source of Fuel

India currently imports uranium from Russia, Kazakhstan, France, Uzbekistan, and Canada.

* * All the Notes in this blog, are referred from Tamil Nadu State Board Books and Samacheer Kalvi Books. Kindly check with the original Tamil Nadu state board books and Ncert Books.