Varna system and Varnashrama dharma Upsc

Varna system and Varnashrama dharma The ancient Indian Civilization evolved with the Varnashrama Dharma that started the principle of hierarchy i.e. Upper and Lower Strata. The Varna system is also called the Four Varna System. According to the Four Varna System, the people were divided into Brahmins, Kshatriyas, Vysyas, and Shudras. This form of division … Read more

Cultural contribution of Pallavas Upsc

Pallavas Society and Literature Upsc

Cultural contribution of Pallavas Tamil society witnessed a great change during the Pallava period. The caste system became strong. The highest place of society is held by brahmins. Brahmin was granted lands by kings and nobles. Also, Brahmin was given the responsibility to look after the temples. Buddhism and Jainism declined during the Pallava period. … Read more

Chalukya Art and Architecture Upsc

Chalukya Art and Architecture Upsc

The Chalukyas were great patrons of art. They developed the vesara style within the building of structural temples. However, the vesara style reached its culmination only under the Rashtrakutas and therefore the Hoysalas. The structural temples of the Chalukyas exist at Aihole, Badami, and Pattadakal. Cave temple architecture was also famous for the Chalukyas. Their … Read more

Art and architecture of Rashtrakutas Upsc

Rashtrakutas Art and Architecture

Art and architecture of Rashtrakutas The finest Rashtrakutas art and architecture were found at Ellora and Elephanta. Kailasa temple is a great temple at Ellora and has been excavated during ruling under Krishna-I. Kailasa temple was carved out from a huge rock of size 200 x 100 feet. The temple, the shrine has four parts … Read more

Lost wax technique upsc

lost wax technique upsc

Lost wax technique for Metal Works The lost-wax technique or process is used for making objects of metals. This process is mostly used in Himachal Pradesh, Odisha, Bihar, Madhya Pradesh, and West Bengal. The technique differs slightly in each region. The low wax process involves different steps. First, the wax model of the image is … Read more

Thangka Painting Sikkim Upsc

Thangka Painting Upsc

Thangka Painting Thangka paintings are commonly practiced in the states of Sikkim, Himachal Pradesh, Ladakh, and Arunachal Pradesh. What is the purpose of Thangka Paintings? It was originally used as a medium of reverence which evoked the highest ideals of Buddism. These paintings are divided into three types based on their deception and meaning. The … Read more

Folk paintings of India Upsc

Folk paintings of India Upsc

Pattachitra It is traditional paintings of Odisha, where no pencil or charcoal is used but rather a brush is used to draw the outlines. These paintings have themes that are inspired by the Jagannath and the Vaishnava cult. Warli Painting These paintings are by the indigenous people who live in Gujarat and Maharashtra knowns as … Read more

Classical dances of India Upsc

Classical dances of India Upsc

Classical dances of India Classical dances of India are recognized by Sangeet Natak Akademi. It includes Bharatanatyam, Katak, Kuchipudi, Odissi, Kathakali, Sattriya, Manipuri and Mohiniyattam. These mentioned dances are major classical dances of India. Also, the culture ministry of the Government of India includes Chhau in its classical list. These dances represent a unity of … Read more

Art and architecture of Mughal empire Upsc

Art and architecture of Mughal empire Upsc

Art and architecture of Mughal empire The Mughal empire’s rule is a landmark in World art and Architecture. Their buildings were known for their huge structures that are decorated with bulbous domes, minarets, cupolas at the four corners, elaborate designs, and also for pictorial mosaic work which is called Pietra Dura. The mosques which were … Read more

* * All the Notes in this blog, are referred from Tamil Nadu State Board Books and Samacheer Kalvi Books. Kindly check with the original Tamil Nadu state board books and Ncert Books.