Niti Aayog notes for Tnpsc


niti aayog

Niti Aayog is a policy think tank of the government of India.

Niti Aayog’s full form is ‘National Institution for Transforming India, which replaced the Planning Commission. It is neither a constitutional body nor a statutory body.

Niti Aayog decentralized the idea of making the entire planning process. The state governments are also involved in the planning and implementation of development plans in a better manner.

It aims at cooperative federalism and specific plans making inclusive of all sections of the population could be part of the developmental process.

The NITI Aayog functions as a think tank of the government. It has the function of providing the central government and the state governments with relevant and strategic technical advice relating to policymaking.

It advises on all issues of national and international importance and analyses the best practices from our own country and from other nations of the world.

The planning commission was scrapped on 1 January 2015 by a cabinet resolution to replace the planning commission. It introduced a new commission called NITI Aayog.

Composition of Niti aayog

composition of niti aayog
composition of niti aayog

The Chairman of NITI Aayog is Prime Minister. Prime Minister appoints a Vice-Chairman. There are five full-time and 2 part-time members.

Niti Aayog has a governing Council that comprises the Chief Minister of all the states and Lt. Governors of the Union Territories. Four members of the Union Council of ministers are nominated as ex-officio members.

Niti Aayog also comprises a Chief Executive officer (CEO)

In 2021, Its Chairperson is Prime Minister of India, Narendra Modi.

  • Vice Chairperson: Rajiv Kumar

  • Ex-Officio Members: Amit Shah, Rajnath Singh, Nirmala Sitaraman and Narendra Singh Tomar

  • Special Invitees: Nitin Gadkari, Piyush Goyal, Virendra Kumar, Ashwini Vaishnaw and Rao Inderjit Singh

  • Full-time Members: V. K. Saraswat (former DRDO Chief), Ramesh Chand (Agriculture Expert) and Dr. V. K. Paul (Public Health expert)

  • Chief Executive Officer (CEO): Amitabh Kant

  • Governing Council: All Chief Ministers of States (and Delhi and Puducherry), Lieutenant Governor of Andaman & Nicobar Islands, and Special Invites

Niti aayog objectives

The Commission also offers a platform for the resolution of inter-sectoral and inter-departmental issues so that the developmental programmes can be accelerated.

It maintains a state-of-art resource centre that will work for research on good governance and best practices in sustainable and equitable development.

It will monitor and evaluate the implementation of the programmes so that the needed resources could be identified.

The NITI Aayog also emphasizes technology up-gradation and capacity building for the implementation of programmes and initiatives.

To undertake other activities that are necessary to further the execution of the national development agenda.

Some of the initiatives of the NITI Aayog include “15-year road map”, 7-year vision, Atal Mission for Rejuvenation and Urban Transformation(AMRUT), Digital India, Atal Innovation Mission, etc.

niti aayog objectives
objectives of Niti aayog

To focus on technology up-gradation and capacity building and to develop state of an art resource center for Research on good governance.

Creation of a platform for Resolution of inter-sectoral & inter-departmental issues and creating a Knowledge, innovation & entrepreneurial support system.

Bring partnership with national and international think tanks and get feedback for constant innovation improvement.

An economic policy that incorporates national security importance. Special attention to the section at risk of not benefitting adequately from the economic progress.

Formulation of plans at the village level, aggregation at a higher level. Improving cooperative federalism and active involvement of states.

* * All the Notes in this blog, are referred from Tamil Nadu State Board Books and Samacheer Kalvi Books. Kindly check with the original Tamil Nadu state board books and Ncert Books.
%d bloggers like this: