Rashtrakutas Administration and Society Upsc


The Rashtrakuta Empire was divided into several provinces called rashtras under the control of Rashtrapati. They were further divided into vishayas or districts governed by vishayapatis. The subsequent subdivision was bhukti consisting of fifty to 70 villages under the control of bhogapatis.

These officers were directly appointed by the central government. The village administration was carried on by the village headmen. However, the village assemblies played a big role within the village administration.

Society and Economy

The Hindu sects of Vaishnavism and Saivism flourished during the amount of Rashtrakutas. Yet, they didn’t affect the progress of Jainism under the patronage of Rashtrakuta kings and officers. Almost one-third of the population of the Deccan were Jains. There have been some prosperous Buddhist settlements at places like Kanheri, Sholapur and Dharwar.

There was harmony among various religions. There was a college at Salatogi, situated in the modern Bijapur district. An inscription gives details of this educational centre. It had been travel by the income from the endowments made by the rich also as by all the villagers on occasions of functions and festivals.

The economy was also during a flourishing condition. There was lively commerce between the Deccan and therefore the Arabs. The Rashtrakuta kings promoted Arab trade by maintaining a friendship with them.

* * All the Notes in this blog, are referred from Tamil Nadu State Board Books and Samacheer Kalvi Books. Kindly check with the original Tamil Nadu state board books and Ncert Books.
%d bloggers like this: