Indian national congress sessions (Inc sessions) from 1885 to 1947

Formation of Indian National Congress

Between 1875 and 1885 there were many agitations against British policies in India. In December 1884, Allan Octavian Hume, a retired English ICS officer, presided over a meeting of the Theosophical Society in Madras.

The formation of a political organization that would work on an Indian basis was discussed and the idea of forming the India National Congress emerged in this meeting. The Indian National Congress was formed on 28 December 1885 in Bombay.

Another important founding member was W.C. Bonnerjee, who was elected the first president. The activities of INC then revolved around petitions and memoranda, from the very beginning the founders of the INC worked to bring every section of the society into its ambit.

The main mission of the INC was to weld the Indians into a nation. They were convinced that the struggle against the English rule will be successful only if the Indians feel like a member of the nation.

The INC provided the space where the political workers from different parts of the country could gather and conduct their political activities under its banner. It was the beginning of the mobilization of people on an all-India basis.

Demands of Indian National Congress


Opportunity for participation in the government. It demanded Indian representation in the government.


It demanded a reduction in the land revenue and protection of peasants against exploitation of the zamindars.

It advocated the imposition of a heavy tax on imported goods for the benefit of swadeshi goods.


To conduct the Indian Civil Service Exam simultaneously in India and England was the major demand of Congress.


Due to the partial treatment of the Indian Political activist by English Judges, congress demands separation of the Executive and the Judiciary.

Early Nationalists in Congress (1885-1915)

The early nationalist in the INC came from the elite section of the society. They were Lawyers, College and School Teachers, doctors, journalists, etc represented the congress.

They came from different regions of the country. These leaders of the INC adopted the constitutional methods of presenting petitions, prayers, and memorandums and thereby they earned their name as “Moderates”.

They were developing the Indigenous anti-colonial ideology and a strategy on their own which helped leaders like M.K.GANDHI. From the late 1890s, there were differences grown within the INC.

Leaders like Bipin Chandra Pal, Bal Gangadhar Tilak, and Lala Lajpat Rai were advocating radical approaches. These advocates of radical methods came to be called Extremists.

The extremists were against the moderates. Their objective became clear in 1897 when Tilak raised the slogan “Swaraj is my birthright and I shall have it“.

Tilak and his militant followers were requesting swaraj instead of economic or administrative reforms. Both the Extremist and moderates contributed to the making of the swadeshi movement.

The method of mass mobilization and boycott of British Goods and institutions suggested by the radicals was also accepted by the moderates.

Both extremists and moderates tried to instil nationalist consciousness through various means including the press. Congress one-third of people were journalists.

Dadabhai Naoroji founded and edited two journals called Voice of India and Rast Goftar. Surendranath Banerjea edited the newspaper called Bengalee.

Bal Gangadhar Tilak edited Kesari and Mahratta. For the first time in the history of India, the Press was used to generate public opinion against the oppressive policies and acts of the colonial government.

On 27 July 1897, Tilak was arrested under section 124 A of IPC.

indian national congress sessions
Indian congress session 1885-1947

Indian national congress sessions from 1885 to 1947

1st SessionBombayDec. 28-30, 1885Womesh Chandra Bonnerjee
2nd SessionCalcuttaDec. 27-30, 1886Shri Dadabhai Naoroji
3rd SessionMadrasDec. 27-30, 1887Badruddin Tyabji
4th SessionAllahabadDec. 26-29, 1888George Yule
5th SessionBombayDec. 26-28, 1889Sir William Wedderburn
6th SessionCalcuttaDec. 26-30, 1890Pherozeshah Mehta
7th SessionNagpurDec. 28-30, 1891P. Ananda Charlu
8th SessionAllahabadDec. 28-30, 1892Womesh Chandra Bonnerjee
9th SessionLahoreDec. 27-30, 1893Shri Dadabhai Naoroji
10th SessionMadrasDec. 26-29, 1894Alfred Webb
11th SessionPuneDec. 27-30, 1895Surendranath Banerjee
12th SessionCalcuttaDec. 28-31, 1896Rahimatullah M. Sayani
13th SessionAmraotiDec. 27-29, 1897C. Sankaran Nair
14th SessionMadrasDec. 29-31, 1898Ananda Mohan Bose
15th SessionLucknowDec. 27-29, 1899Romesh Chunder Dutt
16th SessionLahoreDec. 27-29, 1900N.G. Chandavarkar
17th SessionCalcuttaDec. 26-28, 1901Dinshaw Eduljee Wacha
18th SessionAhmedabadDec. 28-30, 1902Surendranath Banerjee
19th SessionMadrasDec. 28-30, 1903Lal Mohan Ghosh
20th SessionBombayDec. 26-28, 1903Sir Henry Cotton
21st SessionBanarasDec. 27-30, 1905Gopal Krishna Gokhale
22nd SessionCalcuttaDec. 26-29, 1906Shri Dadabhai Naoroji
23rd Session (Suspended)SuratDec. 26-27, 1907Rash Behari Ghosh
23rd SessionMadrasDec. 28-30, 1908Rash Behari Ghosh
24th SessionLahoreDec. 27-29, 1909Madan Mohan Malaviya
25th SessionAllahabadDec. 26-29, 1910Sir William Wedderburn
26th SessionCalcuttaDec. 26-28, 1911Bishan Narayan Dar
27th SessionBankiporeDec. 26-28, 1912Shri Raghunath Narasinha Mudholkar
28th SessionKarachiDec. 26-28, 1913Nawab Syed Mohammed Bahadur
29th SessionMadrasApr. 14-15, 1914Bhupendra Nath Bose
30th SessionBombayDec. 27-29, 1915Satyendra Prasanna Sinha
31st SessionLucknowDec. 26-30, 1916Ambica Charan Mazumdar
32nd SessionCalcuttaDec. 26-29, 1917Annie Besant
33rd SessionDelhiDec. 26-30, 1918Madan Mohan Malaviya
(Special Session)BombayAug. 29-01, 1918Romesh Chunder Dutt
34th SessionAmritsarDec. 26-30, 1919Motilal Nehru
35th SessionNagpurDec. 26-30, 1920C. Vijayaraghavachariar
36th SessionAhmedabadDec. 27-28, 1921Hakim Ajmal Khan (Acting President for C.R. Das)
37th SessionGayaDec. 26-31, 1922Deshbandhu Chittaranjan Das
Special SessionDelhiSep. 04-08, 1923Maulana Abul Kalam Azad
39th SessionBelgaumDec. 26-27, 1924M.K. Gandhi
40th SessionCawnporeApr. 15-17, 1925Mrs. Sarojini Naidu
41st SessionGawahatiDec. 26-28, 1926S. Srinivasa Iyengar
42nd SessionMadrasDec. 26-28, 1927M.A. Ansari
43rd SessionCalcuttaDec. 29-01, 1929Motilal Nehru
44th SessionLahoreApr. 16-18, 1929Pt Jawaharlal Nehru
45th SessionKarachiMar. 21-31, 1931Vallabbhai J. Patel
47th SessionCalcuttaSep. 12-14, 1933Mrs. Nellie Sengupta
48th SessionBombayOct. 24-28, 1934Dr. Rajendra Prasad
49th SessionLucknowJun. 18-20, 1936Pt Jawaharlal Nehru
50th SessionFaizpurJul. 12-14, 1937Pt Jawaharlal Nehru
51st SessionHaripuraFeb. 19-21, 1938Subhash Chandra Bose
52nd SessionTripuraMar. 10-12, 1939Subhash Chandra Bose
53rd SessionRamgarhMar. 19-20, 1940Maulana Abul Kalam Azad
54th SessionMeerutNov. 23-24, 1946J.B. Kripalani
Indian national congress sessions from 1885 to 1947

Indian national congress sessions from 1885 to 1947 pdf

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
* * All the Notes in this blog, are referred from Tamil Nadu State Board Books and Samacheer Kalvi Books. Kindly check with the original Tamil Nadu state board books and Ncert Books.
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x