Classification of civil services in India Upsc

Classification of Civil Services
Classification of Civil Services in Indian Civil Services

Classification of Civil Services

Part XIV of the Indian Constitution classified different types of classification for India under the chapter called Services in Union and the States.

  • In accordance to the classification mentioned in the constitution, it is divided into:
    • All India Services (AIS)
    • State Services
    • Local and Municipal Services

  • There are four groups of central services:
    • Central Group A
    • Central Service Group B
    • Central Services Group C
    • Central Service Group D

  • All India Services includes two most important groups such as IAS and IPS. These two services are called Premier Services in India.

  • The Central Services are divided into Four Groups:

  • Group A with 34 types:
      • Indian Foreign Service
      • Indian Audit and Accounts Service
      • India Statistical Service
      • Indian Railway Service etc

  • Group B Service Include
      • Central Secretariat Service
      • Geographical Survey of India
      • Zoological Survey of India
      • Central Secretariat Stenographers Service

  • Group C Appointed by Staff Selection Commission
    • Members of the Clerical Service of Central Secretariat
    • Telegraph Service etc

  • Group D
      • Peons
      • Gardeners
      • Sweepers etc
0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
* * All the Notes in this blog, are referred from Tamil Nadu State Board Books and Samacheer Kalvi Books. Kindly check with the original Tamil Nadu state board books and Ncert Books.
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x